Call for papers and bursary awards

    Deadline for bursary submissions: 17th February 2017

    General deadline: 26th February 2017

    Our email address:

      The organisers of the sixth annual Oxford Postgraduate Conference in Assyriology (OPCA) wish to extend an invitation to all UK, European, and overseas students whose research relates to the field of Assyriology. The aim of the conference is to provide a forum for students at the postgraduate and postdoctorate levels to present their research to a group of peers and to establish connections with colleagues. 

      There is a conference fee of £20 that goes towards hospitality costs and allows us to continue awarding student grants for attendance. The fee is subsidised and the costs of the conference met by our generous financial supporters. Refreshments between sessions, lunch, and a Saturday evening wine reception are included. 

      Our call for papers has a submission deadline of February 26th, 2017. Please email with your proposed paper title and a brief abstract (approximately 250 words). Successful papers are allotted 20 minutes followed by questions.

      For registration information and further details, please see our website: You can also get information and updates from Facebook ( or follow us on Twitter at @opcassyriology.

      OPCA is generously sponsored by the Lorne Thyssen Research Fund for Ancient World Topics at Wolfson College (University of Oxford), the Wolfson College Academic Committee, and the London Centre for the Ancient Near East.



      We will be awarding between two and three travel and accommodation bursaries for participants outside of the UK on a competitive basis. The awards will consist of a stipend of £125 and reimbursement for accommodation. In order to be considered for a bursary, you must email your CV and an abstract (approximately 250 words) of your paper in application to by February 17th, 2017. Bursaries will be chosen by an independent selection committee to include Prof Markham Geller (Freie Universität, Berlin and UCL, London), Dr Kristin Kleber (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam) and Prof Susanne Paulus (University of Chicago).

      With best wishes,

      Parsa Daneshmand 
      Monica Palmero Fernandez 
      Adam Howe 
      Lynn-Salammbo Zimmermann